This year's James Beard Media Awards ceremony was held at New York's Chelsea Piers.
Each product we feature has been independently selected and reviewed by our editorial team. If you make a purchase using the links included, we may earn commission.
James Beard Foundation Award
James Beard Foundation Award
| Credit: Getty Images

The James Beard Foundation Media Awards were announced tonight at an awards ceremony at Pier Sixty at Chelsea Piers in New York City. Here are this year's winners (below). The 2017 James Beard Awards Gala will take place in Chicago on May 1 and will be hosted by Jesse Tyler Ferguson.

For a complete list of this year's nominees, click here.

The 2017 James Beard Foundation Book Award Winners

For books published in English in 2016.

American Cooking

Baking and Dessert


Cooking from a Professional Point of View

General Cooking





Reference and Scholarship

Single Subject

Vegetable Cooking

The 2017 James Beard Foundation Broadcast Media Award Winners (Presented by Breville®)

For television, web, and radio programs aired in 2016.


  • The Birth of Saké
  • Director: Erik Shirai
  • Producer: Masako Tsumura
  • Airs on: iTunes, PBS, and

Outstanding Personality/Host

Andrew Zimmern
Andrew Zimmern’s Bucket List; Andrew Zimmern’s Driven by Food; Bizarre Foods with Andrew Zimmern
Airs on: Travel Channel and


  • The Four Top
  • Host: Katherine Cole
  • Producers: Katherine Cole and Morgan Holm
  • Airs on: and iTunes

Radio Show/Audio Webcast

Special (TV or Web)

Television Program, In Studio or Fixed Location

  • Fish the Dish
  • Host: Spencer Watts
  • Producer: Chris Knight
  • Airs on: Gusto and

Television Program, on Location

  • Chef's Table
  • Producers: David Gelb, Brian McGinn, Matthew Weaver, Andrew Fried, and Dane Lillegard
  • Airs on: Netflix

Television Segment

  • Harvesting Alaska
  • Hosts: Heather Hintze and Lauren Maxwell
  • Producer: Gina Romero
  • Airs on: KTVA Anchorage and

Video Webcast, Fixed Location and/or Instructional

Video Webcast, on Location

  • Working 24 Hours at…
  • Director: Joe Williams
  • Host: Andrew Knowlton
  • Producer: Meghan Scibona
  • Airs on:

Visual and Technical Excellence

  • Uncharted
  • Director and Photographer: James Mann
  • Editors: Aaron Warzynski and James Fitzpatrick
  • Airs on:

2017 James Beard Foundation Journalism Award Winners

For articles published in English in 2016.


  • “Eat”: “A Haitian Grandmother’s Home-Cooked Porridge”; “Kimchi Fried Rice, Korean Comfort Food”; and “Casa Calamari”
  • Francis Lam
  • The New York Times Magazine

Dining and Travel

  • “I Want Crab. Pure Maryland Crab.”
  • Bill Addison
  • Eater

Food and Culture

Food and Health

  • “Brain Food”
  • Hunter Lewis, Carolyn Williams, Sidney Fry, and Peggy Knickerbocker
  • Cooking Light

Food Coverage in a General-Interest Publication

The New Yorker Food Issue
David Remnick, Lauren Collins, Dana Goodyear, and Carolyn Kormann

Food Reporting

  • “Exploited in Paradise” series
  • Martha Mendoza and Margie Mason
  • Associated Press

Home Cooking

  • “How to Cook, Smoke, Crumble, Grind, Pickle, Candy, Milk, Slow Cook, Toast, Pulverize, and Fry a Nut”
  • Cheryl Slocum and Robin Bashinsky
  • Cooking Light


  • “Recipes with Roots: The True Meaning of Turkey”
  • Francis Lam
  • Cooking Light

Local Impact

  • “‘Free crabs!’”; “A Significant Goodbye”; “Feeding the Prison System”
  • Hanna Raskin
  • The Post and Courier (Charleston, SC)

Personal Essay

  • “All I Want Are Some Potato Skins”
  • Keith Pandolfi
  • Serious Eats


  • “Finding Pete Wells: A Search for America's Most Dangerous Restaurant Critic”
  • Kevin Alexander
  • Thrillist

Visual Storytelling

  • “Thrill Ride”
  • Vince Dixon and Mariya Pylayev
  • Eater

Wine, Spirits, and Other Beverages

  • “The Great Craft Beer Sellout”
  • Dave Infante
  • Thrillist

Craig Claiborne Distinguished Restaurant Review Award

  • “High Chairs and Hard Core”; “The X-Files”; “Beyond Biscuits and Gravy”
  • Karen Brooks
  • Portland Monthly

MFK Fisher Distinguished Writing Award

Publication of the Year