James Beard Awards 2017: Chef and Restaurant Winners, the Complete List

This year's awards were presented at the Lyric Opera in Chicago at a ceremony hosted by Jesse Tyler Ferguson.

James Beard Foundation Award
James Beard Foundation Award. Photo: Getty Images

The James Beard Foundation Awards were presented in Chicago tonight at a ceremony hosted by Modern Family star Jesse Tyler Ferguson (don't forget to check out last week's James Beard Media Awards' complete list of winners, announced last week in New York City). Here is this year's list of chef and restaurant winners:

2017 James Beard Foundation Restaurant Design Award Winners

75 Seats and Under (For the best restaurant design or renovation in North America since January 1, 2014)

  • Firm: AvroKO
  • Designers: Kristina O'Neal, William Harris, Adam Farmerie, Greg Bradshaw
  • Project: SingleThread, Healdsburg, California

76 Seats and Over (For the best restaurant design or renovation in North America since January 1, 2014

  • Firm: Meyer Davis
  • Designers: Will Meyer, Gray Davis, Katie McPherson
  • Project: St. Cecilia, Atlanta

Design Icon

Grand Central Oyster Bar, New York

2017 James Beard Foundation Restaurant and Chef Award Winners

Best New Restaurant (Presented by True Refrigeration®)

Le Coucou


Outstanding Baker

Outstanding Bar Program

Arnaud's French 75 Bar

New Orleans

Outstanding Chef (Presented by All-Clad Metalcrafters)

  • Michael Solomonov
  • Zahav
  • Philadelphia

Outstanding Pastry Chef (Presented by Lavazza)

Outstanding Restaurant (Presented by S.Pellegrino® Sparkling Natural Mineral Water)



Outstanding Restaurateur

  • Stephen Starr
  • Starr Restaurants (Le Coucou, Serpico, Upland, and others)
  • Philadelphia

Outstanding Service

Blue Hill at Stone Barns

Pocantico Hills, NY

Outstanding Wine Program (Presented by Robert Mondavi Winery)



Outstanding Wine, Spirits, or Beer Professional

Rising Star Chef of the Year (Presented by S.Pellegrino® Sparkling Natural Mineral Water)

  • Zachary Engel
  • Shaya
  • New Orleans

Best Chefs in America

Best Chef: Great Lakes (IL, IN, MI, OH)

Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic (D.C., DE, MD, NJ, PA, VA)

Best Chef: Midwest (IA, KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD, WI

Best Chef: New York City (Five Boroughs)

Marco Canora


Best Chef: Northeast (CT, MA, ME, NH, NY State, RI, VT)

Best Chef: Northwest (AK, ID, MT, OR, WA, WY)

  • Greg Denton and Gabrielle Quiñónez Denton
  • Ox
  • Portland, OR

Best Chef: South (AL, AR, Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, FL, LA, MS)

Best Chef: Southeast (GA, KY, NC, SC, TN, WV

Best Chef: Southwest (AZ, CO, NM, OK, TX, UT

Best Chef: West (CA, HI, NV)

  • Corey Lee
  • Benu
  • San Francisco

Lifetime Achievement Award

Nora Pouillon, Restaurant Nora

Humanitarian of the Year

Denise Cerreta, One World Everybody Eats

America's Classic Award Winners

Bertha's Kitchen, Charleston, South Carolina

Gioia's Deli, St. Louis, Missouri

La Taqueria, San Francisco, California

Sahadi's, Brooklyn, New York

Schultz's Crab House, Essex, Maryland

Was this page helpful?
Related Articles