The Creamiest Eggnog Is Actually Vegan

Rice, tahini, almond milk, and three kinds of spice make this "eggnog" twice as nice.

Vegan Eggnog Recipe
Photo: Photo by Victor Protasio / Prop Styling by Christine Keely

Truth be told, I've never been much of an eggnog person. Sure, my husband got me into stirring a bit into my morning coffee (a wintertime treat that I strongly endorse), but when it comes to sipping it straight, I'd much prefer an egg-free, coconut-spiked glass of Puerto Rican coquito instead. Then along came this brilliant holiday egg-free, dairy-free eggnog recipe from Jennifer Carroll of Spice Finch in Philadelphia, and I was hooked.

Thickened with fragrant and starchy basmati rice (similar to how horchata is thickened), this spirit-free, tahini-laced 'nog is a brilliant next step in eggnog evolution. "My fiancé and I cut out alcohol (and dairy as well, for him), but my love for 'Christmas in a cup' remained; I found a way to still enjoy it without sacrificing the festive flavors," she says. Here's how to make it at home:

Cook the Rice with Cinnamon

The tender basmati rice forms the base of this surprisingly creamy eggnog. You'll start by simmering it with water and a cinnamon stick until it's super-tender—you should be able to easily crush a grain of rice between your fingers. Then you can remove the cinnamon stick and transfer the mixture to the blender to cool for 10 minutes or so.

Blend the Mixture with Almond Milk and More

Next, you'll add even more ingredients to the blender—almond milk and tahini paste (we love Soom) for richness and nutty depth, ground cardamom and vanilla extract for another layer of spice, and sugar and salt to balance out all the flavors. Process the mixture until nice and smooth (it takes just a minute).

Heat Up, Pour into Mugs, and Add a Dash of Spice (and Maybe Some Booze)

For extra coziness, transfer your "eggnog" mixture to a saucepan and heat gently until warm, then pour into mugs and garnish with some freshly grated nutmeg. You can always add a splash of rum or bourbon for a boozy version of this drink. Either way, you've got an eggnog that everyone, from eggnog skeptics to vegans, can appreciate.

Was this page helpful?
Related Articles