Regardless of what your dietary restrictions stipulate, the body of Christ is decidedly not gluten-free. That's according to a letter issued over the weekend by the Vatican at the request of Pope Francis.
The circular letter issued to Bishops specifically discussed the bread and wine used for the Eucharist. Apparently this recent reminder on what is and isn’t allowed for consumption during communion has become necessary now these items are no longer only produced within religious communities but “are also sold in supermarkets and other stores and even over the internet.” Yes, if you’re buying your communion wafers on the dark web, this could mean trouble for you.
- McDonald’s Opens Next to the Vatican, and Not Everyone Is Happy
- ‘The Vatican Cookbook’ to Bring Papal Dining to the U.S.
- Americans Drink Plenty of Wine, but Vatican Citizens Drink More
In addressing the gluten-free crowd, the letter cites two passages within the already established rules. “The bread used in the celebration of the Most Holy Eucharistic Sacrifice must be unleavened, purely of wheat, and recently made so that there is no danger of decomposition,” the official guidelines stipulate as quoted in the Vatican’s letter. “It follows therefore that bread made from another substance, even if it is grain, or if it is mixed with another substance different from wheat to such an extent that it would not commonly be considered wheat bread, does not constitute valid matter for confecting the Sacrifice and the Eucharistic Sacrament.”