St. Regis, Florence
Formerly the Grand Hotel Firenze, this 15th-century landmark reopened as the St. Regis Florence in 2011 following a multimillion-dollar renovation of the entire building, which was originally designed by Filippo Brunelleschi in 1432. The public spaces are furnished with antique Murano chandeliers and restored 16th-century frescoes, while the 100 guestrooms have high coffered ceilings, wall frescoes or tapestries, and beds set beneath swags of brocade fabric. In select rooms, large windows overlook the Arno River and surrounding hills. The St. Regis also boasts a wine cellar fashioned from a medieval cave.