A Breakdown of What Ingredients Go into Jell-O

<drupal-entity data-embed-button="ti_media_oembed" data-entity-id="1285415" data-entity-label="Ti Media Oembed" data-entity-type="file" data-entity-uuid="" data-view-mode="oembed_display"></drupal-entity>

Gelatin desserts always carry an air of mystery: What makes them jiggle? Wired decided to take a quick look at what exactly makes Jell-O act and taste the way it does with this 100 second video.

As most of us have come to know, it starts with collagen from animal by-products, reminding us that despite its very non-meat-like appearance, Jell-O is definitely not vegetarian (though vegetarian Jell-O alternatives do exist).

But congealing compounds derived from cow skins is just the beginning. Gelatin is inherently colorless and flavorless, so there are still a few steps left to go before Jell-O becomes the dessert you know and love… or maybe hate. People have pretty strong feelings about Jell-O, like which flavor is the best. Red? No, yellow! No, Orange!

[h/t Laughing Squid]

Related: Best Hangover Cures in the U.S.
10 Pairs of Brunch Sweats that Won't Embarass You in Public
This Underwater Video of Poaching an Egg Is Surprsingly Enthralling

DownComment IconEmail IconFacebook IconGoogle Plus IconGrid IconInstagram IconLinkedin IconList IconMenu IconMinus IconPinterest IconPlus IconRss IconSave IconSearch IconShare IconShopping Cart IconSpeech BubbleSnapchat IconTumblr IconTwitter IconWhatsapp IconYoutube Icon