Passing Over

Posted March 21, 2007

Over on BuzzFeed and Megnut, the news is out that Coke is made of sugar now—just in time for Passover, to make it kosher for the holiday (no grains allowed for the whole eight-day period—hence no corn syrup, no matter how high in fructose). For those who crave sugared cola year-round, you can smuggle it in from Mexico or order it by the case from the Texas Dr. Pepper plant that still uses the original cane sugar formula. Myself, I’ve never understood the cult of pure-sugar cola—soda just ain’t my thing—but I do like a major brand that adjusts its recipe once a year, just for spring. The vernal Coke-quinox! You can set your clocks by it.

The Dish
Receive delicious recipes and smart wine advice 4x per week in this e-newsletter.
The Wine List Weekly pairing plus best bottles to buy.
F&W Daily One sensational dish served fresh every day.

You May Also Like

powered by ZergNet