My F&W
quick save (...)
News

New York Wine Laws, Go Figure!

default-image

In a classic illustration of the bizarre brainlessness of some of the liquor laws around the country, it seems that a wine shop in upstate New York recently got fined $10,000 for selling a wine gift bag to a customer. Yes, that's right, a gift bag. See, here in New York, wine shops can't sell gift bags—apparently it's considered "running a second business," though they can sells corkscrews, wine stoppers and various other accessories. You can, however, give the gift bags away.

On the other hand, if you sell alcohol to a minor in New York, that gets you a mere $1,000 fine. Of course, they can also throw you in jail for a year, so that's something, but still—ten drunk minors equals one gift bag?

You Might Also Like powered by ZergNet
advertisement
You might also like
advertisement
The Dish
Receive delicious recipes and smart wine advice 4x per week in this e-newsletter.
The Wine List Weekly pairing plus best bottles to buy.
F&W Daily One sensational dish served fresh every day.

Tune in on Wednesdays at 10PM ET for Top Chef: Boston, the 12th season of Bravo's Emmy-Award winning, hit reality series.

Join celebrity chefs, renowned winemakers and epicurean insiders at the culinary world's most spectacular weekend, the FOOD & WINE Classic in Aspen, June 19-21.