October 17, 2011

November 2011 Issue

The Always-Hungry Guide to 24-7 Eating

© Con Poulos

"Blue Butterfly" plate (on left) by Jasper Conran for Wedgwood, 877-900-9973 or na.wwrd.com; cobalt/burnish gold plate from Dandelion, 415-436-9500 or dandelionsf.com; "Due Ice Oro" fork by Mepra from Lekker Home, 877-753-5537 or lekkerhome.com; "Tenugui" cloth from Tortoise General Store, 310-314-8448 or tortoisegeneralstore.com; "High Rise" wineglass in smoke by Diane von Furstenberg, dvf.com.

© Con Poulos

"Pebblestone" plate in smoke grey by Diane von Furstenberg; "Country Estate" tea/coffee cup and saucer by Juliska, 203-316-0212 or juliska.com; "Honest" drinking glass by Orskov from A+R, 800-913-0071 or aplusrstore.com.

© Con Poulos

Square salad plate by Christiane Perrochon from Sue Fisher King, 888-811-7276 or suefisherking.com; "Pashmina" plate by Wedgwood; soapstone bowl from Canvas, 212-461-1496 or canvashomestore.com.

© Con Poulos

Platter by Christina Kim of Dosa for Heath Ceramics, 415-332-3732 or heathceramics.com; "Black Fluted Mega" plate by Royal Copenhagen from Ochre, 212-414-4332 or ochrestore.com; bowl by Atelier NL from Wabnitz Editions, wabnitzeditions.com; "High Rise" wineglass in smoke by Diane von Furstenberg; "Due Ice Oro" salad serving spoon by Mepra from Lekker Home.

© Con Poulos

"Fiamma Collection" coupe plate by Missoni for Richard Ginori, richardginori1735.com; "High Rise" wineglass in smoke by Diane von Furstenberg; "Napoli" table linen in mustard by Libeco Home, libecohomestores.com.

© Con Poulos

"Gustavsberg Salix Fika" plate from Huset, huset-shop.com.

Michael Symon's Heartland Thanksgiving

© Con Poulos

"Bodega Vino" glasses from Anthropologie, anthropologie.com; "Barre" dinner plates (used as chargers) by Simon Pearce, 800-774-5277 or simonpearce.com; hand-painted Limoge porcelain salad plates by Marie Daâge from Treillage, 212-535-2288 or bunnywilliams.com.

© Con Poulos

"Barre" dinner plates (used as chargers) by Simon Pearce; hand-painted Limoge porcelain salad plates by Marie Daâge from Treillage.

© Con Poulos

Porcelain dinner plate by Daniel Smith from Ochre, 212-414-4332 or ochrestore.com; "Safari" fork by Roost from Velocity Art and Design, 866-781-9494 or velocityartanddesign.com.

© Con Poulos

Lotus-inspired platter from Treillage; "Safari" serving spoon by Roost from Velocity Art and Design.

© Con Poulos

Dessert bowl by Daniel Smith from Ochre.

Fall's Best Pies

© Dana Gallagher

"Spring Serenade" accent plate (with Cranberry-Glazed Pumpkin Pie) by Tien Manh Dinh for Royal Crown Derby, royalcrownderby.co.uk; "Classico" cutlery from Canvas, 212-461-1496 or canvashomestore.com.

© Dana Gallagher

"Pink Bouquet" plate (with Old-Fashioned Apple Pie) by Tien Manh Dinh for Royal Crown Derby, royalcrownderby.co.uk; "Classico" cutlery from Canvas, 212-461-1496 or canvashomestore.com.

© Dana Gallagher

"Four Seasons" linen fabric in winter by Victoria Hagan, 212-888-1178 or victoriahagan.com.

© Dana Gallagher

Kitchen cloth by Fog Linen from ABC Carpet & Home, 212-473-3000 or abchome.com.

Hugh Acheson's Neo-Retro Southern Cooking

© Fredrika Stjärne

"Long Dew" servers from Dinosaur Designs, dinosaurdesigns.com.au; "Rhonda" serving platter (with shrimp) from Canvas, 212-461-1496 or canvashomestore.com.

© Fredrika Stjärne

Cutting board by Dansk from OK, 323-653-3501 or okstore.la.

© Fredrika Stjärne

Pie dish in black cumin by Diane von Furstenberg from Bloomingdale's, bloomingdales.com; "Just Stripes Copper" tea towel by Studiopatró, 415-775-3432 or studiopatro.com.

© Fredrika Stjärne

"Flash" plate by Nikko Ceramics, nikkoceramics.com; "Singing I" bowl by Donna Karan Lenox from Bloomingdale's.

October 2011 Issue

DIY Bitters

© Johnny Valiant

"Herringbone" highball class from Calvin Klein Home, 212-292-9000 or calvinklein.com; julep strainer from Cocktail Kingdom, 212-647-9166 or cocktailkingdom.com; "Yarai" 85 ml bitters bottle from Cocktail Kingdom.

© Johnny Valiant

"WMF" 210 ml bitters bottle (left) from Cocktail Kingdom; "WMF" 310 ml bitters bottle (center) from Cocktail Kingdom; "Yarai" 85 ml bitters bottle (right) from Cocktail Kingdom.

© Johnny Valiant

"Hungry" plate by Tsé & Tsé from Horne, 877-404-6763 or shophorne.com; linen kitchen cloth by Fog Linen Work from Ochre, 212-414-4332 or ochrestore.com.

© Johnny Valiant

"Juwel" Champagne coupe by Theresienthal from TableArt, 323-653-8278 or tableartonline.com; "WMF" 210 ml bitters bottle from Cocktail Kingdom.

Weeknight Stews

© Johnny Valiant

Plate (foreground) from ABC Carpet & Home, 212-473-3000 or abchome.com; "Gabriella" bowl from Pottery Barn, 888-779-5176 or potterybarn.com; "Mitos" wineglass by Arik Levy for Kvetna from TableArt, 323-653-8278 or tableartonline.com; linen napkin by Fog Linen Work from Horne, 877-404-6763 or shophorne.com.

© Johnny Valiant

Bowl from ABC Carpet & Home.

© Johnny Valiant

"Landscape" dinner plate by Rosenthal, rosenthalusa-shop.com.

Halloween Hijinks

© David Malosh

"Devil Damask Flock" wallpaper by Timorous Beasties from Ted Boerner, 212-675-5665 or tedboerner.com; "Women's Face with Candle" porcelain wall plate by Fornasetti from Barneys New York, barneys.com; oxidized bronze candlesticks by Ted Muehling from E.R. Butler & Co., 617-722-0230 or erbutler.com; "Harriet" medium black goblet (next to punch bowl) from Juliska, 888-414-8448 or juliska.com; "Harriet" black fishbowl vase (with flowers) from Juliska; black footed nine-inch square cake stand from Sweet & Saucy Shop, 562-397-9190 or sweetandsaucysupply.com.

© David Malosh

"Flights of Fancy" claw tongs by Michael Aram from Michael C. Fina, 800-289-3462 or michaelcfina.com.

© David Malosh

"Insect #2" decoupage plate by John Derian, 212-677-3917 or johnderian.com.

© David Malosh

"Eve" small black compote from Juliska.

September 2011 Issue

Trendspotting: The New Food Artists

Courtesy of Fornasetti.com

Tête-à-Tête glass "Lei" and Lui" vases by Nigel Coates from Barneys New York, barneys.com.

Courtesy of Stueben

"Baby's First Cocktail" Champagne coupe by Tom Sachs for Steuben, 800-783-8236 or steuben.com.

Courtesy of Diem Chau

Porcelain plate by Diem Chau, diemchau.com.

"Brushstroke" plate by Diane von Furstenberg, 888-472-2383 or dvf.com.

"Superstition" plate by Damien Hirst from Gagosian Gallery, 212-744-9200 or gagosian.com.

"Euro Tropiques #08" plate from Bernardaud, bernardaud.com.

"Charley Harper Orange Fish" couple plate by Todd English for Fishs Eddy, 877-347-4733 or fishseddy.com.

Plywood tray by Astrid Sylwan for Marimekko, us.marimekko.com.

Vegetable brooches by Hemmerle, hemmerle.com; -->

David Bouley: Dishes to Impress Your Guests

© John Kernick

Platter by Elephant Ceramics, .

© John Kernick

Platter by Elephant Ceramics.

Summer Party Dishes: Art of Summer Cooking Best Recipes & Style

© Con Poulos

Hand-dipped vintage green-enamel flatware by A Fabulous Fete, etsy.com/shop/afabulousfete; white ceramic plate by Caroline Swift, carolineswift.com.

© Con Poulos

Bone china espresso cup, espresso spoon and ceramic serving plate by Caroline Swift.

© Con Poulos

Porcelain plate by Jan Burtz from ABC Carpet & Home, 212-473-3000 or abchome.com; vintage textile from Sri, 718-599-2559 or srithreads.com.

© Con Poulos

Platter by Elephant Ceramics, elephantceramics.com.

© Con Poulos

Ceramic platter by dbO Home, 860-364-6008 or dbohome.com.

© Con Poulos

Hand-dipped vintage green-enamel flatware by A Fabulous Fete; ceramic bowls by Eric Bonnin Ceramics, 917-575-3942 or ericbonninceramics.com; platter by Elephant Ceramics.

© Con Poulos

Platter by Elephant Ceramics.

© Con Poulos

"Nani Iro" fabric by Naomi Ito from Purl Soho, 212-420-8796 or purlsoho.com.

© Con Poulos

Hand-dipped glazed porcelain popsicle sticks by Lisa Jones from Pigeon Toe Ceramics, 503-709-5479 or pigeontoeceramics.com; "Thumbprint" Venetian glass dish by Elsa Peretti from Tiffany & Co.

© Con Poulos

Handmade paper mobile by Heather Frazier from Frazier & Wing, frazierandwing.com; "Future" glass by Peter Svarrer from Horne, 877-404-6763 or shophorne.com; "Solo" stainless steal fork by Cutipol from Horne.

© Con Poulos

Skewers by AHeirloom, aheirloom.com; porcelain saucier from Potomak Studio, potomak.it; vintage Japanese textile from Sri.

© Con Poulos

Antique silver bowl from Ochre, 212-414-4332 or ochrestore.com.

© Con Poulos

Ceramic pearlywinkle blue stoneware plate by Eric Bonnin Ceramics.

© Con Poulos

Wallpaper by Trove, 212-268-2046 or troveline.com.

© Con Poulos

Porcelain plate from Potomak Studio; silver spoons by Miranda Meilleur, mirandameilleur.co.uk.

August 2011 Issue

Oyster Odyssey

© Michael Turek

"Brick French" blue dish towels from Farmhouse Wares, 866-567-7958 or farmhousewares.com; butcher trays from Dick Blick Art Materials, 800-828-4548 or dickblick.com.

The Fabulous Beekman Boys' Barn-Raising Potluck

© Fredrika Stjärne

"Barre" goblets by Simon Pearce, 800-774-5277 or simonpearce.com.

July 2011 Issue

Trendspotting

© Kate Mathis

Glass flask from JB Prince, 800-473-0577 or jbprince.com; test tubes and stand from Sneezer222, etsy.com/shop/sneezer222.

Best New Chefs and Their Simplest Recipes

© Anna Williams

"Granite" dinner plate from dbO Home, 860-364-6008 or dbohome.com.

© Anna Williams

Plate by Daniel Levy Porcelain, 212-268-0878 or daniellevyporcelain.com; "Goa" flatware by Cutipol from AKA Dwelling, 877-388-7245 or akadwelling.com.

© Anna Williams

Plate by Jan Burtz from ABC Carpet Home, 212-473-3000 or abchome.com.

© Anna Williams

Bowl and plate by Content & Container from The Future Perfect, 877-388-7373 or thefutureperfect.com.

© Anna Williams

"Ecume" plate and bowl by Bernardaud, bernardaud.fr.

© Anna Williams

"Flow" soup bowl from West Elm, 888-922-4119 or westelm.com.

© Anna Williams

"UnoDueTre" octagonal plate by Pieter Stockmans for Serax, yoox.com.

© Anna Williams

Silver-and-porcelain plate by Potomak Studio from ABC Carpet & Home.

Top Chef Top 10

© Kate Mathis

"Carbon Slate" placemat by Calvin Klein Home, 866-513-0513 or calvinklein.com; serving set by International Silver from Replacements Ltd., 800-737-5223 or replacements.com.

June 2011 Issue

Trendspotting

© Hector Sanchez

Oval platter and beer glass from Dandelion, 415-436-9500 or dandelionsf.com.

© Hector Sanchez

(From left to right) "Beer Cup" from ABC Carpet & Home, 212-473-3000 or abchome.com; "Butterflies" glass by Ted Muehling for Lobmeyr from TableArt, 323-653-8278 or tableartonline.com; "Edesia Stemmed Pilsner" glass by Dansk, 800-326-7528 or dansk.com; "Senbiki" glass from Dandelion; "Muslin" beer glass by Ted Muehling from Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum, 212-849-8355 or cooperhewittshop.org.

Learning to Barbecue Helped Make Me a Man

© Hector Sanchez

"Organic Sand" white dinner plate by Wonki Ware from The Conran Shop, 866-755-9079 or conransusa.com; mini cocotte by Staub, 800-777-4308 or staubusa.com.

What to Cook Next: Secret of the Best Burger

© Marcus Nilsson

British half-pint glass from Sur La Table, 800-243-0852 or surlatable.com.

What to Cook Next: Cheater's Barbecue

© Marcus Nilsson

Syrian recycled-glass drinking glasses from Canvas, 212-461-1496 or canvashomestore.com.

The Virtures of Vegan Grilling

© Con Poulos

"Otto" black matte stainles steel spoon by TableArt, 323-653-8278 or tableartonline.com.

© Con Poulos

"Kurbits" plate by Rörstrand from Scandinavian Brands Online, scandinavianbrandsonline.com.

© Con Poulos

"Kurbits" bowl (top right) by Rörstrand from Scandinavian Brands Online.

© Con Poulos

"Bursa" plates (with leaves) by Stig Lindberg for Gustavsberg from Huset, huset-shop.com.

May Issue

Cover


Handmade cement tile by Imports From Marrakesh, 212-675-9700 or importsfrommarrakesh.com.

Learning to Love Austrian Food

© Michael Turek

Plaid dessert plate and small tray from Haus Interior, 212-741-0455 or hausinterior.com; "Burls" small round porcelain plate (with bread) from dbO Home, 860-364-6008 or dbohome.com.

© Michael Turek

"Rundes" fork by Josef Hoffmann from Neue Galerie, 212-628-6200 or neuegalerie.org; plaid napkin by Fog Linen Work from Haus Interior; designer Nina Freudenberger from Haus Interior.

© Michael Turek

Cocotte by Staub from Zappos.com, zappos.com.

© Michael Turek

"Viola" wrapping paper by Dagobert Peche from Neue Galerie.

© Michael Turek

Porcelain antler and feather figurines and chalkboard napkin ring from Haus Interior; bone china salad plates by Dibbern from TableArt, 323-653-8278 or tableartonline.com.

Patagonia Pinot Quest: A Winemaker's Vision

© Fredrika Stjärne

Porcelain bowl, plate and Ethiopian cotton napkin from Ochre, 212-414-4332 or ochrestore.com.

© Fredrika Stjärne

Blue bowl from ABC Carpet & Home, 212-473-3000 or abchome.com.

© Fredrika Stjärne

Pot holder from Elementos Argentinos, 011-54-11-4832-6299 or elementosargentinos.com; leather mat from The Conran Shop, 866-755-9079 or conranusa.com.

© Fredrika Stjärne

Table runner from Elementos Argentinos; cake slicer and platter from ABC Carpet & Home; porcelain bowl from Ochre.

The Hollywood Story of Evening Land Wines

© Petrina Tinslay

Porcelain bottles from Haus Interior, 212-741-0455 or hausinterior.com.

© Petrina Tinslay

Porcelain bottles from Haus Interior; "Perfect Imperfect" plates by Content & Container and "Ricebowls" porcelain bowls by Alexa Lixfeld from The Future Perfect, 212-473-2500 or thefutureperfect.com.

© Petrina Tinslay

Plate by Collection Regards from The Future Perfect; porcelain bottles from Haus Interior.

© Petrina Tinslay

"Perfect Imperfect" bowls by Content & Container from The Future Perfect; earthenware goblet by Ceramic Matters from The Conran Shop, 866-755-9073 or conranusa.com.

© Petrina Tinslay

"Silver Crossings" dinner plate by Potomak Studio from ABC Carpet & Home, 212-473-3000 or abchome.com.

April Issue

Trendspotting: Wild Food

© Kate Mathis

"Ants On My Plate" porcelain plate from Bailey Doesn't Bark, 347-443-8232 or baileydoesntbark.com.

A Star at the Stove: Gwyneth Paltrow

© John Kernick

Bowl by Christiane Perrochon from Ochre; plaid linen by Fog Linen from Haus Interior, 212-741-0455 or hausinterior.com.

© John Kernick

Linen napkin (with Niçoise salad) from Treillage Ltd., 212-535-2288 or bunnywilliams.com/treillage

© John Kernick

"Kartio" pitcher (with turkey burger) by Kaj Franck for Iittala, iittala.com; plaid linen (with turkey burger) by Fog Linen from Haus Interior.

Whole Animal Cooking: Chris Cosentino

© Tina Rupp

"Pebble" bowl by Mud Australia from Horne, 877-404-6763 or shophorne.com.

Alexandra Guarnaschelli's Healthy Wine Pairings

© Tina Rupp

Oval platter by Joan Platt Pottery, joanplattpottery.com.

© Tina Rupp

Square platter by Christiane Perrochon from Ochre, 212-414-4332 or ochrestore.com.

Nirvana in Sonoma

© Ingalls Photography

"Plantlife" plate from dbO Home, 860-364-6008 or dbohome.com.

Not Pinot: The New Food-Friendly Reds

© Anna Williams

"Zig Zag" dinner plate by Paola Navone for Eno from Gretel, 786-247-9003 or gretelhome.com; "Black Lace" charger by Mottahedeh, mottahedeh.com; custom-print-monogram linen by Emerson Made, 603-841-3840 or emersonmade.com.

© Anna Williams

Green-rimmed side plates from Fishs Eddy, fishseddy.com; wine glasses from Global Table, 212-431-5839 or globaltable.com.

© Anna Williams

"Navy Fringe" plates by Jasper Conran for Wedgwood, 877-900-9973 or wedgwood.com; stemless wineglass by Michael Ruh from Ochre, 212-414-4332 or ochrestore.com.

© Anna Williams

"Bas" bone china dinner plate by Margareta Hennix and "Flow" stainless steel flatware by Anders Ljungberg from Just Scandinavian, 212-334-2556 or justscandinavian.com.

© Anna Williams

"Paratiisi" plates by Birger Kaipiainen from Just Scandinavian.

© Anna Williams

"Blackberry" tablecloth by John Robshaw Textiles, 212-594-6006 or johnrobshaw.com; "Teema" blue platter by Iittala from Bloomingdale's, bloomingdales.com; "Sultana" plate by Gien from Table Ideas, tableideas.com.

March Issue

Chocolate, Wine and Sun Salutations

© David Malosh

White ceramic plate by Heath Ceramics, 415-332-3732 or heathceramics.com.

Robuchon from Haute to Healthy

© Tina Rupp

Green canvas (used as tablecloth) from Canvas, 212-461-1496 or canvashomestore.com.

The Soup Remix

© John Kernick

© John Kernick

Blue plates and indigo bowls by Davistudio, 518-392-7308 or davistudio.com; felt runner and round felt mats by FilzFelt, 617-391-6230 or filzfelt.com; round French Ovens in "Caribbean" and "Dune" by Le Creuset, 877-273-8138 or lecreuset.com.

February Issue

DIY Smoked Foods

© David Prince

Plate by Jan Burtz from ABC Carpet & Home, 212-473-3000 or abchome.com.

Healthy Make-Ahead Dishes

© Tina Rupp

"Folk" napkin by Matteo, matteohome.com.

Edgy Wines, Simple Dishes

© Con Poulos

"The Wives of Henry the 8th" chair by Martin Albert Interiors, 212-673-8000 or martinalbert.com; wineglass from ABC Carpet & Home, 212-473-3000 or abchome.com.

© Con Poulos

Fork from ABC Carpet & Home; "The Wives of Henry the 8th" chair by Martin Albert Interiors.

© Con Poulos

"Valais" wallpaper (background) by Trove, 212-268-2046 or troveline.com; "Caroline" wineglasses by William Yeoward, 212-532-2358 or williamyeowardcrystal.com; "Hidcote" sterling silverware by William Yeoward.

© Con Poulos

"Mono" flatware by Peter Raacke from Switch Modern, 404-605-0196 or switchmodern.com.

Top Chef Top 10: Ludo Lefebvre

© Kate Mathis

"Wave" glass bowl from Dandelion, 415-436-9500 or dandelionsf.com; "Colombina" spoon by Massimiliano and Doriana Fuksas from Alessi, 212-941-7300 or alessi.com; plate from Dandelion.

January Issue

A New Year's Eve Fit for Marie Antoinette

© Michael Turek

"Dotted 23k" gold plate from Bailey Doesn't Bark, baileydoesntbark.com.

© Michael Turek

Porcelain white "Angela" rose (pictured with food) from ABC Carpet & Home, 212-473-3000 or abchome.com

© Michael Turek

"Cup" candelabra and black taper candles (pictured behind table) from The Conran Shop, 866-755-9079 or conranusa.com.

A Portuguese Lesson

© David Malosh

"Dry" flatware by Alessi, 212-941-7300 or alessi.com; wood board from Ochre, 212-414-4332 or ochrestore.com.

© David Malosh

"Coupe" bowl (pictured in top left with rice and spoon) by Heath Ceramics, 415-332-3732 or heathceramics.com. "Knitware" coaster (pictured with wineglass) by Alyssa Ettinger, alyssaettinger.com. "Harvard" linen-and-cashmere scarf by Libeco Home, libecohomestores.com.

The Un-Mediterranean Diet

© Tina Rupp

Silver knife from Hermès, hermes.com; bread plate from Just Scandinavian, 212-334-2556 or justscandinavian.com.

2011 Taste of the Trends

© Quentin Bacon

Side plate by Daniel Smith from Ochre, 212-414-4332 or ochrestore.com.

© Quentin Bacon

"Just Stripes" tea towel from Studiopatró, 415-775-3432 or studiopatro.com; almond-shaped dish by Daniel Smith from Ochre.

© Quentin Bacon

"Elements" porcelain dish by Louise Campbell for Royal Copenhagen, royalcopenhagen.com.

© Quentin Bacon

"Gio" large juice glasses from The Conran Shop, 866-755-9079 or conranusa.com.

© Quentin Bacon

Tumbler (pictured with ice cream) by Astier de Villatte from John Derian, 212-677-3917 or johnderian.com.

© Quentin Bacon

"Vin" martini glass from The Conran Shop.

Top Chef Top 10

© David Malosh

"Granit" dinner plate by Eva Zeisel from Design Within Reach, 800-944-2233 or dwr.com.

You May Like